ESGCO scope

Since its creation in 1998 by Alberto Malliani, Tudor Griffith, Pontus Persson and Bernard Swynghedauw, the European Study Group on Cardiovascular Oscillations (ESGCO) aims at fostering interdisciplinary discussions about physiological states and transitions, regulatory mechanisms and clinical implications of cardiovascular oscillations in all their forms. The meeting of the ESGCO takes place every two years, and provides an unique forum for discussion and information exchange across a wide range of scientific disciplines, including medicine, biology, neuroscience, physics, mathematics, engineering and computer science.

Fifteen years after the creation of ESGCO, the 8th meeting of the group will take place in the majesty of the Dolomite peaks in the Trentino region. While gorgeous mountain landscapes, verdant pastures, clear lakes, and dense mountain forests will provide the scenery for the cross dissemination between basic and clinical research on cardiovascular oscillations, which represents  the central thread of the meeting. As in the past conferences, attention will be focused on physiological analysis and interpretation of cardiovascular oscillations in normal conditions as well as in stress and disease states. As a novelty of the conference, a glance on the interaction of cardiovascular system with the brain and central neural systems will be targeted to gain new insight in the complexity of the regulatory mechanisms and their impairment in many cardiac and metabolic diseases.

Full multivariate applications and methods will be the main target of the meeting.

Previous Editions:

Here below you can find the links to the website and/or program of the previous ESGCO meetings. Note that, starting from the 4th edition, selected contributions of the meeting have been published in Special Issues of peer-reviewed International Scientific Journals.

1st edition: Cardiff, Wales, 2000

2nd edition: Siena, Italy, 2002

3rd edition: Leuven, Belgium, 2004

4th edition: Jena, Germany, 2006
Special Issue on Biomedizinische Technik

5th edition: Parma, Italy, 2008
Special Issue on IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Magazine
Special Issue on Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A

6th edition: Berlin, Germany, 2010
Special Issue on Computers in Biology and Medicine

7th edition: Kazimierz Dolny, Poland, 2012
Special Issue on Autonomic Neuroscience: Basic and Clinical

ESGCO Board:

André Aubert
Robert Bauernschmitt
Paolo Castiglioni
Sergio Cerutti
Marco Di Rienzo
David Edwards
Luca Faes
Przemyslaw Guzik
Dirk Hoyer
Giandomenico Nollo
Pontus Persson
Alberto Porta (protempore chairman)
Bernard Swynghedauw
Peter van Leeuwen
Andreas Voss
Niels Wessel
Jan Zebrowski