immagine testata

Einstein Toolkit EU School and Workshop

This international school and workshop will provide an opportunity for researchers and students interested in numerical relativity to learn about the Einstein toolkit and discuss about its future developments. The Einstein Toolkit ( is a publicly available framework used by several numerical relativity groups in the world, with applications ranging from high-energy astrophysics to cosmology.

The first three days will be dedicated to a school useful for new users that are interested in learning more about the toolkit. The school's aim is to introduce students and postdocs to the Einstein Toolkit and in particular to its general relativistic magnetohydrodynamic (GRMHD) code GRHydro. Eight practitioners from several institutions around the world will teach the students how to install the code, how to run some simple neutron star simulations, how to extract gravitational wave signals, and how to visualize the results of simulations. The number of students will be limited to a maximum of 20 participants.

The school will then be followed by a two-day long workshop open not only to Einstein toolkit developers, but also to anyone interested in numerical relativity and computational astrophysics. The workshop will cover the most recent developments of the toolkit and discussions about future plans. All the students that have attended the school are also welcome to join the workshop.

Einstein Toolkit Eu 2016 is now over. Thanks for taking part in it


Lecture notes and workshop talks

Lecture Notes by Ian Hawke:  
Lecture Notes by Olindo Zanotti:
Lecture Notes by Toni Font in the download box
Lecture Notes by Ian Hinder and Oleg Korobkin:
Lecture notes by Jonah Miller:
Lecture notes by
Wolfang Kastaun  in the download box
Workshop talks:



Confirmed Lecturers for the School

  • Toni Font (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Ian Hawke (University of Southampton, UK)
  • Ian Hinder (Albert Einstein Institute, Germany)
  • Jonah Miller (Perimeter Institute, Canada)
  • Philipp Moesta (University of California Berkeley, USA)
  • Wolfgang Kastaun (University of Trento, Italy)
  • Oleg Korobkin (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Olindo Zanotti (University of Trento, Italy)


  • Eloisa Bentivegna (University of Catania, Italy)
  • Riccardo Ciolfi (University of Trento, Italy)
  • Bruno Giacomazzo (University of Trento, Italy)
  • Frank Loeffler (Louisiana State University, USA)


Room A210
Polo Scientifico e Tecnologico "F. Ferrari" (Povo 1)
via Sommarive 5, 38123 Trento, Italy


Scientific Coordination

Bruno Giacomazzo
Department of Physics
University of Trento

Organizing Secretariat

Communication and Events Service
University of Trento
phone +39 0461 283225
fax +39 0461 281392