immagine testata

NetGCoop 2014 - International Conference on NETwork Games, COntrol and OPtimization

The topic of network control and optimization has been of increasing importance in many networking application domains, such as mobile and fixed access networks, computer networks, social networks and transportation networks. These all require tools (both conceptual and algorithmic) for a better and more efficient control operation, for optimization of their performance, and/or for a better understanding of the relationships between entities that may be cooperative or act selfishly, and in an uncertain and possibly adversarial environment.

The goal of this international forum is to bring together researchers from different areas with theoretical expertise in game theory, control, and optimization, and with applications in the domains listed above.

Topics of interest

The Topics of interest to NetGCooP include (but are not limited to):

  • Hierarchical optimization in networking
  • Resource allocation and their optimization
  • Optimization and control theoretical tools in networking
  • Dynamic Programming and Hamilton-Jacobi equations on networks
  • Optimal control, differential games and mean field games
  • Algorithmic game theory
  • Learning mechanisms in games
  • Computation of Nash, correlated, and market equilibria
  • Price of anarchy
  • Stackelberg games in networking
  • Incentives for cooperation between network entities
  • Network pricing
  • Preference elicitation and winner determination in combinatorial auctions
  • Flow and congestion control in networks
  • Transport networks
  • Control of queuing networks
  • Scheduling transmissions in networking
  • Optimization of wireless networks
  • Cloud computing and grid applications
  • Trust and reputation management
  • Electrical power networks
  • Formation of social networks
  • Competitive routing
  • Biological networks
  • Games for competition, advertisement or influence over social networks.
  • Network formation games

Chairs and Committees

General Chairs:

Fabio Bagagiolo (University of Trento, Italy)
Nahum Shimkin (Technion – Israel Institute of Technology)

Program Chairs:

Jean Walrand, Chair (University of California Berkeley, USA) 
Francesco De Pellegrini, Co-Chair (CREATE-NET, Italy)
Rachid El Azouzi, Co-Chair (University of Avignon, France)
Jianwei Huang, Co-Chair (Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Local Chair:

Lorenzo Maggi (CREATE-NET, Italy)

Publicity Co-Chairs:

Fabio Martignon (University Paris Sud, France)
Xu Chen  (University of Goettingen, Germany)
Quanyan Zhu (New York University, USA)

Steering Committee:

Eitan Altman (Inria Sophia-Antipolis, France), Chair
Tijani Chahed (Telecom SudParis, France), Vice-Chair
Daniel Kofman (Telecom ParisTech, France)
Alexandre Proutière (KTH, Sweden)
Sergei Foss (Heriot-Watt, UK)
Laurent Massoulié (Technicolor, France)
Peter Glynn (Stanford University, USA)
Sem Borst (TUE, The Netherlands)
Onno Boxma (TUE, The Netherlands)
Eilon Solan (Tel-Aviv Univ, Israel)
Tamer Basar (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Sylvain Sorin (Univ Paris 6, France)
Tony Ephremides (Univ of Maryland, USA)
Nahum Shimkin (Technion, Israel)
Bruno Tuffin (INRIA Rennes, France)

Technical Programm Committee:

Ashraf Al Daoud (University of Toronto, Canada)
Tansu Alpcan (Melbourne University, Australia)
Konstantin Avratchenkov (INRIA, France)
Giacomo Bacci (University of Pisa, Italy)
Dario Bauso (Palermo University, Italy)
Randall Berry (Northwestern University, USA)
Stefano Bonaccorsi (University of Trento, Italy)
Francesca Ceragioli (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Giulio Erberto Cantarella (Salerno University, Italy)
Francesca Ceragioli (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Laura Cottatellucci (EURECOM, France)
Subhrakanti Dey (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Lingjie Duan  (SUTD, Singapore)
Jocelyne Elias (University of Paris Descartes, France)
Atilla Eryilmaz (Ohio State University, US)
Dieter Fiems (Ghent University, Belgium)
Lin Gao (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Andrey Garnaev (Rutgers University, USA)
Majed Haddad (INRIA, France)
Yezekael Hayel (University of Avignon, France)
Nidhi Hegde (Technicolor, France)
Ivo J.B.F. Adan (Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands)
Tania Jimenez (University of Avignon, France)
Eduard Jorswieck (TU Dresden, Germany)
Hisao Kameda (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
Vasileios Karyotis (National Technical University of Athens)
George Kesidis (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
Seong-Lyun Kim (Yonsei University, Korea)
Iordanis Koutsopoulos (Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece)
Samson Lasaulce (CNRS/Supelec, France)
Lasse Leskelä (University of Jyväskylä, Finland)
Baochun Li (University of Toronto, Canada)
Shuqin Li (Bell Labs China, China)
Patrick Loiseau (EURECOM, France)
D. Manjunath (IIT Bombay, India)
Panayotis Mertikopoulos (CNRS, France)
Jeonghoon Mo (Yonsei University, Korea)
John Musacchio (University of California at Santa Cruz, US)
José Niño-Mora (Carlos III University of Madrid, Spain)
Dusit Niyato (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Lacra Pavel (University of Toronto, Canada)
Balakrishna Prabhu (LAAS-CNRS, France)
Walid Saad (University of Miami, US)
Soumya Sen (University of Minnesota, US)
Alonso Silva (Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs France)
David Starobinski (Boston University, US)
Yutaka Takahashi (Kyoto University, Japan)
Hwee Pink Tan (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore)
Hamidou Tembine (Supelec, France)
Qiong Wang (University of Illinois, US)
Sabine Wittevrongel (Ghent University, Belgium)
Hong Xu (City University of Hong Kong)
Yuedong Xu (Fudan University, China)
Dejun Yang (Colorado School of Mines)
Yung Yi (KAIST, Korea)
Quanyan Zhu (New York University, US)
Hasnaa Zidani (ENSTA ParisTech, France)

Invited Plenary Speakers

Tamer Basar (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) - Stochastic Dynamic Teams and Games with Asymmetric Information
Fabio Camilli (Università La Sapienza Roma, Italy) - Mean Field Games on networks
Paola Goatin (INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France) - Optimization based control of networks of discretized PDEs: application to road traffic management.
Anders Rantzer (Lund University, Sweden) - Scalable Control of Monotone Systems

Outstanding works presented at the conference will be able to compete for either the best paper award and or the best student paper award. The best student paper award requires the first author to be provably a student at the time of the paper submission.



Notification -> September 6  September 1
Camera Ready -> September 20
Early registration -> September 20 25
Late registration -> October 20

Submission will be managed electronically through EDAS



For organizing matters:
Communication and Events Service
University of Trento
phone: +39 0461 283225-2020-1545
fax: +39 0461 281392

For scientific and submission matters: