Information about selection for a.y. 2020/2021 (cycle 36) will be published as soon as available.
ANNOUNCEMENT OF SELECTION: 35th cycle – Academic Year 2019-2020 CALL 2019

DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS: CLOSED 29 AUGUST 2019, hrs. 4.00 PM (Italian time)
Link to the Application online

Positions: no. 23
Scholarships: no. 20
Positions without scholarship: no. 3
Supernumerary positions: no. 2 
(see art. 7 of the call)

The scholarships are funded as follows:

Financier of scholarships


Topics of reserved scholarships[1]

University of Trento



University of Trento & Department of Physics


A - Nanosecond Repetitevely Pulsed (NRP) discharges for COconversion
B - Space data science and technology
C - Cellulose nanostructures as building block for functional materials

Universities of Trento & CNR-INO BEC


D - Quantum Gases and superfluidity 

Department of Physics 3 E - Development of coarse-grained modeling methods for biological macromolecules and their application (H2020-ERC StG VARIAMOLS - Potestio)
F - Twin photons and single photon entanglement for QRNG and QKD (UE H2020 FET "QRANGE" Pavesi)
G - Neuromorphic silicon photonics (PRIN 2017 - CUP E64I19001140001)

Department of Physics (Q @ TN)


H - SOCCEr (SupercOnducting Circuits for the Casimir Effect) 
I - Photonic Quantum Simulations of Dynamical Gauge Fields (PhoQuaSDyn)
J - QUantum Information Transfer in Positronium Annihilation 
K - Second Order Nonlinearities in p-i-n Silicon waveguides for entangled photon generation towards MIR quantum sensing – SiPDC 
L - Machine Learning techniques FOR Quantum Gate Engineering (ML Q-FORGE)
M - Machine learning for Quantum Many-Body Phases recognition (MalQuPh)



N-O -  Particle, astroparticle, nuclear, theoretical physics, related technologies and applications, including medical Physics
P - 4D tracking for space application with fast silicon detectors (LGAD)

[1] Reserved scholarships can only be assigned to those candidates who will ask for and obtain the specific eligibility.

For details on the reserved topics please see the box "Download".

An additional PhD position in Laboratory astrophysics is available on a separate call, for details please see the box "Useful links".

The Academic year starts November 1, 2019

Announcement of selection:  Rector's Decree no. 434 of 18.06.2019, published in this webpage on 19.06.2019 – available in the “Download Box”*
*please note that only the Italian version of the call is legally binding, the English version is provided for information only.

Applicants are recommended to complete the online application well in advance before the deadline, in order to avoid possible technical problems or overcharge of the connection and/or of the application systems.

Assessment schedule: the assessment of qualifications will be held from September 4; interviews will be held from 12 to 18 September, 2019.

Exclusion of incomplete applications: 04/09/2019 (see box download)

Assessment of qualifications results and candidates admitted to the oral examination: 06/09/2019 (see download box)

Final rankings: available in the box "Download": 19/09/2019

Deadline for enrollment to the first year: 

27th September 2019: admitted to a position with scholarship

3rd October 2019admitted to a position without scholarship

Information about first year enrollment procedure available at the related web page .