PhD programmes - Science and Technology
Home > PhD Program > Program Boards
Home > PhD Program > Program Boards

Program Boards


Roberto Battiston – University of TrentoPrimo piano di Roberto Battiston

Roberto Battiston, is an Italian physicist, full professor of Experimental Physics at the Department of Physics, University of Trento. He was president of the Italian Space Agency (ASI) from 2014 to 2018. He specialises in the field of fundamental and elementary particle physics and is a leading expert on cosmic rays.

He coordinated together with Nobel laureate Samuel C. C. Ting the construction of the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer, operating on the International Space Station since 2011 and dedicated to the search for antimatter and dark matter.  

He conducts research in geophysical remote sensing from space with the CSES satellite.

He has published more than 540 scientific articles in leading international journals. A columnist for La Stampa, Repubblica and L'Adige, he carries out an intense activity as an essayist and populariser. He has written The Alphabet of Nature (2022), The Mathematics of the Virus (2020), The First Dawn of the Cosmos (2019), Making Space (2019), Dialogue between an Artist and a Scientist (2012).


Myrka Zago – University of Rome Tor Vergata Primo piano di Myrka Zago

Myrka Zago is a bioengineer, full professor of Physiology at the Department of Civil Engineering and Computer Science Engineering of the University of Rome Tor Vergata. She is the Director of  the Center for Space Biomedicine at the same University. She studies and teaches space physiology.

She discovered along with her colleagues the brain mechanisms involved in the representation of the effects of gravity on the body. She performed experiments on more than 20 astronauts flying on board of the Space Shuttle or the International Space Station.

Her research has been published in the most important international journals, including Science, Nature Neuroscience and npj Microgravity (Nature portfolio).

She applies the results of her research to the development of new neurorehabilitation protocols for patients at the IRCCS Santa Lucia Foundation in Rome.

Phd programme committee

Surname and name Scientific area (SSD) Institution
ALOISIO Roberto FIS/02 Gran Sasso Science Institute (GSSI)
BACCIGALUPI Carlo FIS/05 International School for Advanced studies (SISSA)
BALDINI Luca FIS/01 University of Pisa
BATTISTON Roberto FIS/01 University of Trento
BERRILLI Francesco FIS/06 University of Rome Tor Vergata
BERSANELLI Marco Rinaldo Fedele FIS/05 University of Milan
BLEFARI MELAZZI Nicola ING-INF/03 University of Rome Tor Vergata
BORTOLUZZI Daniele ING-IND/13 University of Trento
BRUZZONE Lorenzo ING-INF/03 University of Trento
BUONGIORNO Maria Fabrizia GEO/10 National Institute for Geophysics and Vulcanology (INGV)
BURIGANA David SPS/06 University of Padua
BUSACCA Alessandro  ING-INF/01 University of Palermo
CAO Giacomo ING-IND/24 University of Cagliari
CAPOLONGO Domenico GEO/04 University of Bari “Aldo Moro”
CAPORALI Stefano ING-IND/22 University of Florence
CARBONE Vincenzo  FIS/06 University of Calabria
COLUCCIA Angelo ING-INF/03 University of Salento
DE MITRI Ivan FIS/01 Gran Sasso Science Institute (GSSI)
DE PALMA Francesco FIS/01 University of Salento
DI PASQUALE Fabrizio Cesare Filippo ING-INF/03 School of Advanced studies Pisa
ESPOSITO Francesca BIO/19 National Institute for Astrophysics (INAF)
ESPOSITO Paolo FIS/05 University School for Advanced Studies – Pavia
FANUCCI Luca ING-INF/01 University of Pisa
FIORE Fabrizio FIS/05 National Institute for Astrophysics (INAF)
FORNENGO Nicolao FIS/02 University of Turin
GAGLIARDI Maria IUS/01 School of Advanced Studies - Pisa
GARGANO Fabio  FIS/04 National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN)
GIORDANO Francesco FIS/01 University of Bari "Aldo Moro" 
GREGORIO Anna FIS/05 University of Trieste
GRONCHI Giovanni Federico MAT/07 University of Pisa
IUPPA Roberto FIS/01 University of Trento
KRACHMALNICOFF Nicoletta FIS/05 International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA)
LORENZINI Enrico ING-IND/12 University of Padua
MACCARRONE Mauro BIO/10 University of L’Aquila
MALAGÙ Cesare FIS/01 University of Ferrara
MANTOVANI Fabio FIS/06 University of Ferrara
MARCONI Alessandro FIS/05 University of Florence
MAROTTA Anna Maria GEO/10 University of Milan
MARSELLA Giovanni FIS/01 University of Palermo
MARTORELLA Marco ING-INF/03 University of Pisa
MAZZARELLA Giuseppe ING-INF/02 University of Cagliari
NATOLI Paolo FIS/05 University of Ferrara
OTON NIETO Claudiojose  FIS/01 School of Advanced Studies - Pisa
PAGANO Davide FIS/01 University of Brescia
PALLAVICINI Marco FIS/01 University of Genoa
PATERNOSTER Giovanni FIS/01 Fondazione Bruno Kessler (FBK)
PERROTTA Francesca FIS/05 International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA)
PIGHIN Stefania M-PSI/01 University of Trento
PIOTTO Giampaolo FIS/05 University of Padua
PRATESI Giovanni GEO/06 University of Florence
PUGLISI Giuseppe GEO/10 National Institute for Geophysics and Vulcanology (INGV)
PUGNO Nicola ICAR/08 University of Trento
RICCI Raffaella Giovanna Nella M-PSI/02 University of Turin
RICCIARINI Sergio Bruno FIS/01 “Nello Carrara” Institute of Applied Physics (CNR-IFAC) 
RIZZO Angela Maria BIO/10 University of Milan
SACCOMANDI Giuseppe  MAT/07 University of Perugia
SANTARCANGELO Enrica Laura BIO/09 University of Pisa
SERIANI Stefano ING-IND/13 University of Trieste
SPARVOLI Roberta FIS/04 University of Rome Tor Vergata
TERRACINI Susanna MAT/05 University of Turin
TIENGO Andrea FIS/05 University School for Advanced Studies – Pavia
TONETTA Stefano ING-INF/05 Bruno Kessler fountation (FBK)
VALENTINI Francesco FIS/03 University of Calabria
VELLANTE Massimo FIS/06 University of L’Aquila
ZAGO Mirka BIO/09 University of Rome Tor Vergata

Student representative

PhD student representatives are elected in a number of two from among those enrolled in the PhD Course.

The duration of their office is two years; in the case of forfeiture or resignation during the two-year period, they shall be replaced by the first non-elected; if there is no candidate in the list of elected members, a new vote shall be held; pending the holding of the vote, the Board of Lecturers shall remain validly constituted.

The representatives of the doctoral students shall attend the meetings of the Board, limited to matters concerning the general progress of the doctorate and the training courses.

NOSSEIR AHMED EMADELDIN SAYED ahmed.nosseir [at] Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna - Pisa
SIRLETTI SALVATORE SAMUELE salvatore.sirletti [at] University of Ferrara - Ferrara

Executive committee

  • Battiston Roberto – University Of Trento 
  • Baccigalupi – International School For Advanced Studies (Sissa) 
  • Burigana David – University Of Padua
  • Carbone Vincenzo – University Of Calabria
  • Gargano Fabio – National Institute For Nuclear Physics (INFN)
  • Maccarrone Mauro – University Of L’aquila
  • Mazzarella Giuseppe – University Of Cagliari
  • Pratesi Giovanni – University Of Florence