Governing Bodies of the University

The Charter, issued on 23 April 2012, defines the main bodies of government and administration of the University: Rector, Board of Directors, President of the Board of Directors, Academic Senate, Council of Directors, Student Council, Evaluation Group, Board of Auditors, Director General, Board of Discipline.

The Rector guarantees that there is a common strategic policy among the governing bodies of the University and promotes and coordinates scientific and teaching activities. The Rector is the legal representative of the University.

The Board of Directors is the body that governs and is responsible for the general organisation of the University. It oversees the economic and financial management of the University as well as that of its assets.
The President of the Board of Directors guarantees the special autonomy the University avails of.
The Academic Senate is the body that governs scientific production and teaching at the University. It cooperates with the Rector in the targeting, planning and coordination of teaching and research activities at the University. Moreover, taking into consideration the proposals of the individual areas of the University, it collaborates with the Rector in determining the scientific and teaching plans and their fulfilment, the allocation of resources and the recruitment of professors and researchers.

The Council of Directors is the body that acts as the link among the academic structures, and between the latter and the Academic Senate. Its members consist of the Directors of the different Departments and Centres. It is chaired by the Rector.

The Student Council is the body that represents the students attending the different courses at the University.

The Evaluation Group continuously and systematically checks the performance of the University in its organization, in the research and teaching activities, and determines the overall quality of the procedures, thereby contributing to the improvement of the internal system of self-evaluation and to the promotion of merit. The Group, in complete autonomy, draws up an annual report on the attainment of the strategic plan and on the achievement of the rigorous objectives, and submits this report to the Council of Administration by May of each year.

The Board of Auditors checks the accounting-administration of the University and monitors that the principles of correct administration and of the regulations in force are respected.

The Director General, in the frame of the areas approved by the Council of Administration, is responsible for the overall running and organisation of the offices and services, the technical-administrative staff of the University and the technical resources.

The Board of Discipline carries out the preliminary phase of the disciplinary legal proceedings concerning professors and researchers, which foresee more serious sanctions than censure, and expresses an opinion which is submitted to the Council of Administration.

Other Bodies supporting the governance of the University

The Statute also includes the setting up of other bodies which support the governance of the University in specific areas. These bodies are: the joint committee for the right to study and the promotion of merit, the ethics committee for experiments involving human beings, the library council, the committee for the protection of quality at the University, the sports council, the committee for recruitment and career advancement, the patent committee, the administrative and technical staff council.

The Joint committee for the right to study and the valorisation of merit expresses obligatory opinion to the Academic Senate as regards the system of student contribution, the policies of promotion of merit, and the measures for the right to study; it makes proposals to the Academic Senate about international mobility and services to the students; it monitors initiatives taken in these areas.

The Research Ethics Committee has the main function of evaluating and expressing opinions on research projects involving humans presented by individual researchers or research groups belonging to the University or to affiliated Institutions, which imply risks for psychological and physical well-being of participants involved, and which may possibly also limit their right to privacy and information.

The Library committee decides on the general guidelines and determines the planning aims of the University library.

The Quality assurance committee is responsible for the implementation of quality assurance procedures at University level, within courses of study and in the departments, based on the guidelines established by the governing bodies.

The Sports committee oversees all sports initiatives and activities that are organised by the University and the Trento University Sports Centre.
The Committee for recruitment and career advancement aims at enhancing the quality of recruitment and the advancement of the careers of professors and researchers.
The Intellectual Property Committee is appointed to decide on the management of the intellectual property of the University and to define University policy concerning the protection and valorisation of intellectual property

The Committee of administrative and technical staff advises on the steps to be taken concerning the policies of organization, management and training of the technical and administrative staff and of language teachers of the University.

The Committee for Equal Opportunities aims at promoting and protecting equal opportunities and wellbeing and the quality of working time and of the organization, for all the staff of the University, including the non-permanent staff.

The Committee for animal welfare (OPBA) deals with topics regarding animals used for scientific and educational purposes, in all facilities of the University which carry out scientific activity using animals, as per Legislative Decree no. 26/2014.

The Senate Committee for the implementation of the code of ethics is a consultive body. Upon request of the Academic Senate, it submits opinions and recommendations on their areas of competence.

The Committee of PhD candidates and research fellows is a collective body with an advisory capacity in the field of organizational, managerial and educational policies of PhD candidates and research fellows.